Leduc County council re-appoints John Whaley for mayor

Oct. 21, 2014 – Leduc County council, at its organizational meeting this morning, unanimously re-appointed John Whaley to serve as mayor for a one-year term.

“I am honoured to serve Leduc County for another term as mayor,” says Whaley. “Leduc County is a busy municipality. We are involved in our share of challenges, such as the City of Edmonton’s proposed annexations, and I am pleased that council continues to support my leadership as we work together through these issues.”

Division two Councillor Clay Stumph nominated Whaley to serve as mayor for his eighth term. The sole nomination was carried unanimously by council.

Each year, Leduc County council appoints a mayor from within council to serve at the helm. Whaley’s term as mayor will expire in October 2015.

The deputy mayor of Leduc County is determined on an eight-month rotational basis. Division two councillor Clay Stumph will act as deputy mayor until Feb. 28, 2015.

The deputy mayor rotation will then continue as follows:

  • Mar. 1, 2015 to Oct. 31, 2015: Division three Councillor John Schonewille
  • Nov. 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016: Division five Councillor Tanni Doblanko
  • July 1, 2016 to Feb. 28, 2017: Division six Councillor Glenn Belozer
  • Mar. 1, 2017 to October 2017: Division seven Councillor Audrey Kelto

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: