Council re-appoints Mayor John Whaley to serve as mayor

Oct. 20, 2015 – At its organizational meeting this morning, Leduc County council unanimously re-appointed John Whaley to serve as mayor for a one-year term.

“I am honoured to serve Leduc County for another term as mayor,” says Mayor John Whaley. “Leduc County is a diverse municipality and I remain committed to leading our council and ensuring our interests continue to be represented at the provincial and federal levels.”

Rick Smith, division one councillor, nominated Whaley to serve as mayor for his ninth term. The sole nomination was carried unanimously by council.

Each year, Leduc County council appoints a mayor from within council to serve at the helm. The current mayoral term will expire in October 2016.

The deputy mayor of Leduc County is determined on an eight-month rotational basis, starting following the municipal election.

The deputy mayor rotation will continue as follows:

  • Until Oct. 31, 2015: Division three Councillor John Schonewille
  • Nov. 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016: Division five Councillor Tanni Doblanko
  • July 1, 2016 to Feb. 28, 2017: Division six Councillor Glenn Belozer
  • Mar. 1, 2017 to October 2017: Division seven Councillor Audrey Kelto

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: